Eclipse is Life-changing Experience for CCSU Alumna

 

[Jessica Johnson looking excited at 4:30AM on the bus to see totality; Diamond ring photo by Justin Motta]

Editor’s note: Jessica Johnson, CCSU alumna, posted the following to Facebook shortly after experiencing her first total solar eclipse. She graciously allowed us to share it with you

Words cannot describe what I have just experienced. It was dodgy early on and we drove almost 4.5 hours this morning to get out of the way of a nasty frontal system. We made it to Marion, IL and only had to bribe a few towering cumulus clouds to leave. I have never seen an eclipse before and I still don’t know if I am composed enough to describe it or even process what I have just witnessed. Seeing the total eclipse, corona, and everything else associated with it has rendered me speechless (which doesn’t happen too often). It was like an amazing dream and it was worth the wait. I just sat there and cried; staring at something that was so beyond what pictures or stories could ever give. If there was ever a time or an experience where I was physically/emotionally reminded that I was a part of something so much larger than myself this eclipse exceeded it and happily reminded me of the star dust in which I was born and will return to. Just so wonderful and awe inspiring, I am still emotional and will remember this for the rest of my life. Thanks to Kris Larsen for making this a reality for me. I can’t wait for the next one! I have no pictures because I wanted to just experience it, but I have friends who will share pics with me and I will share with you [See above picture from Justin Motta].

— Jessica Johnson, CCSU Class of 2016

Leave a Reply

